Peace Mala come first in Right On competition

National Award for Promotion of Human Rights
Amy Rees, Kelly-Anne Thomas, Paul Rousselle and Luke Smith preparing for the presentation

Peace Mala has been awarded 1st Prize in the Right On competition for the promotion of human rights in Welsh schools. The Right On competition was organised by CEWC Cymru and the Wales Public Law and Human Rights Association. CEWC, which stands for Council for Education in World Citizenship, is an educational charity working with young people to promote active global citizenship. It also provides resources and training for PSE and citizenship and organises many events including Schools Debating Championships, Model United Nations meetings, European Youth Parliaments and human rights workshops.

For the Right On competition, students aged 11-16 were asked to think of innovative ways to raise awareness of rights within their school environment and the community. The Peace Mala Youth Team, lead by Pam Evans, Head of Religious Studies in Coedcae School Llanelli, entered the competition and spent several months promoting human rights through the message of the Peace Mala. Martin Pollard, Education Officer for CEWC Cymru, commented on the high standard of the entries received. Peace Mala was declared an outstanding success and awarded first prize.

Members of the Youth Team were invited to the Department of Law at Swansea University where they took part in the Right On Conference. The day focused on human rights issues through workshops organised by The Electoral Commission, University of Wales Swansea Department of Law and Amnesty International.

Professor Timothy Jones handing the cheque to Dianella Rees with team members looking on

The Youth Team gave a superb power point presentation on the Peace Mala and was met by Timothy Jones, professor of Public Law. He presented the team with a cash prize of £300 to be spent on the further promotion of human rights through the excellent work of the Peace Mala.

Members of the youth team who took part were: Imran Sheikh, Kelly-Ann Thomas, Emily Morris, Paul Rousselle, Amy Rees, Luke Smith and Daniella Rees.


Leave a Reply